I love C.S. Lewis.

Clive Staples – aka “Jack.” Have you ever read anything by him? If not, you really should consider it. He has that way of making you think like you have never thought before. It’s inspiring, exhilarating… it’s decimatingly honest. The things he says are often things that every human thinks but doesn’t realize he has thought until Lewis places it there in the most simple and shockingly real words, and then said human reflects, “That’s something I’ve known my whole life, and yet I have never said it. How did Lewis get inside my brain?”
Some examples:

“Love is not affectionate feeling, but a steady wish for the loved person’s ultimate good as far as it can be obtained.”

“Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: “What! You too? I thought I was the only one.”

Beautiful and true, huh? Anyway, he’s great for the philosophical mind. He’s not afraid to put things bluntly. He excels at taking human truth and waving it right in front of our oblivious faces. He possesses the beautiful ability to see the significance of everyday realities which most people think too little or unimportant to stop and think about. He inspires me.

Now, I’m not going to in any way claim that my writing is up to Lewis’ par. I cannot promise that my messages will be good, interesting, or even relatable. But I will promise this – they will be genuine. They will come from my own human truth. And that’s all I ask in return from you. Let’s sit back and be “for real” about ourselves, our thoughts, our experiences. Let’s recognize the significance of every epiphany and joy – just like Jack.

 

~ Jill

